A Whisper to a Riot

I’ve been listening to a lot of Foo Fighters recently and their lyric, “a whisper to a riot” from Walk hit me as a concept that perfectly captures what FF songs are like: they start out nice and melodic then explode into snarling anthems of catharsis. No one builds a song quite like they do it is almost like a firework with a spark, a slow burn then a massive freaking explosion. Basically their music is fucking awesome.

Here’s my Top 5 Foo Fighters Songs:

5. Walk

I only had to hear the first few notes of this to love it. It sounds like a pop tune that builds and builds into something fierce. I love that a song that starts out with Dave musing, “I think I lost my way” rips into him screaming “I NEVER WANNA DIE”! Hell YEAH!

4. The Pretender

I listened to this a lot when I first separated from my ex-husband! It’s great to scream along to when you’re dealing with someone toxic and this video is pretty incredible. I want to go to a FF show like this ;-)

3. Stacked Actors

This one goes to 11 when I’m driving! Another song that has a blistering riff that slides into a catchy melody and then erupts. I should add it to my boxing work-out playlist because it has always made me want to hit things when I listen to it and now I can!

2. Good Grief

When this comes on I start hollering “OHMYGOD I FUCKING LOVE THIS SONG!!!” I was a huge fan from this first album and this song is one that I never get tired of blasting, plus when I’m a bad mood the “Hate it! Hate it! Hate it!” refrain is incredibly liberating. Try it, you’ll feel so much better after screaming it a few times.

1. Everlong

This song is SO kick ass yet it has the most beautiful melody and sentiment to it – it makes me want to pump my fist and cry at the same time. Take a listen with this more acoustic version:

Compared to the Foo Fighters, everyone else just looks like a pussy.

2 Responses to A Whisper to a Riot

  1. kjewls says:

    I absolutely ADORE “Walk.” It’s definitely on my current “Most Played” list. And the video’s homage to the film “Falling Down” is positively genius. (I’ve never actually seen the film, all the way through, but the clips on YouTube are definitely worth checking out.)

    I also really love “Bridge Burning,” off of the Wasting Light album. Now that’s a song that will get you revved up for a workout!

    But of course, I’ll always remember the Foo Fighters, as the folks that gave me “Big Me,” back in the day. (I still attribute that video to my current obsession with Mentos.) It’s amazing how much the band has changed since then. (Haven’t we all? ;))

    • imaginarymen says:

      “Wasting Light” is a damn good album. I’ve also got “Rope” and “Arlandria” on repeat. I have no shame in going on record, repeatedly – that Foo Fighters are a MUCH better band than Nirvana ever was. Plus Dave Grohl is just too hilarious and entertaining to be stuck behind a drum kit all the time :-)

      If you like “Big Me”/Mentos look on YT and see if there’s a clip of him telling the story of why they stopped playing that song live ;-0

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

